Sep 2022



Concerto Köln

Thursday, September 8, 2022 | 19:30 h
Margravial Opera House Bayreuth

1 break (30 min.) after Part 1 (duration approx. 40 min.) Total duration approx. 2h 

In her programme Mirrors, the exceptional and vivacious singer from Trinidad and Tobago Jeanine De Bique presents arias sung by strong, courageous and passionately loving women. Famous Handel arias, for example from Rodelinda, are mirrored in lesser-known arias by other composers who have interpreted the same figure or emotional situation. Multifaceted reflections beam out from the same character, as if visualised through a cracked mirror. The arias tell of crucial moments in the psychological development of the operatic heroines and cast light on the emotional diversity of female experience.

“It seems as if everything that has shaped me up until now as a person and musician has given me the means to do justice to the musical and emotional demands of the programme,” says De Bique, whose full, beautifully ringing voice is capable of astonishing emotional power. Hence Mirrors is also a very personal programme, which aims to link Handel’s mature arias with those of lesser-known composers such as Carl Heinrich Graun and Riccardo Broschi, who – and this is frequently not known – were in part the original creators of the characters singing the arias. Together with the Baroque orchestra Concerto Köln, De Bique leads us to fascinating and sonorous spaces of the soul, in which human emotion and musical beauty act as mirrors to each other.

Our media partner Bayerischer Rundfunk will broadcast this concert on the radio and as a video stream on 04.10.2022 from 8.05 pm. will broadcast the concert on 09.09.2022.


George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)
Sinfonia from Partenope HWV 27

Carl Heinrich Graun (1704/1705–1759)
“Risolvere non oso“ from Rodelinda

George Frideric Handel
“Ritorna o caro“ from Rodelinda HWV 19

Suite from Rodrigo HWV 5
Ouvertüre – Gigue

“Mi restano le lagrime“ from Alcina

Carl Heinrich Graun
“L’empio rigor del fato“ from Rodelinda




Leonardo Vinci (c. 1690–1730)
Sinfonia from Partenope

George Frideric Handel
„L’alma mia“ from Agrippina HWV 6

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681– 1767)
“Rimembranza crudel“ from Germanicus TWV 21:3b

George Frideric Handel
Suite from Rodrigo HWV 5
Sarabande – Matelot

“Che sento? Oh dio! – Se pietà” from Giulio Cesare in Egitto HWV 17

Suite from Rodrigo HWV 5 (part 3)
Menuett – Bourée I – Bourée II – Passacaglia

Carl Heinrich Graun
“Tra le porcelle assorto“ from Cleopatra e Cesare


Jeanine De Bique Soprano
Yves Ytier Concert Master
Concerto Köln

Subscribe to receive our Newsletter