Nicola Antonio Porpora Operatic Arias
Sep 2022


Nicola Antonio Porpora Operatic Arias

Martyna Pastuszka | {oh!} Orkiestra

Saturday, September 17, 2022 | 19:30 h
Margravial Opera House Bayreuth

1 break (30 min.) after Part 1 (duration approx. 40 min.) Total duration approx. 2h

Nicola Antonio Porpora was born in 1686 in a poverty-stricken quarter of Naples and also died there in 1768, likewise in dire poverty. During the in-between years he advanced to become one of the most influential exponents of the Italian opera seria, working from his home city as base at first in centres such as Rome and Venice, and vying with Leonardo Vinci for the rank of the leading Italian opera composer of the age. In 1733 he was engaged in London to rival George Frideric Handel and to intrigue against his operatic empire.

Besides his work as a composer Porpora was primarily renowned also as a feared singing teacher, who used to maltreat his pupils but could also get the best out of them. Among his pupils were star castrati who are still famous today, including Farinelli, Caffarelli and Antonio Uberti, who called himself by the stage name of Porporino in honour of his teacher. Porpora’s music was adored among the singers of the time; as singing teacher and connoisseur of voices he reacted in his operas to the specific qualities of each cast, flattered the voices, and drove vocal skills to the ultimate in achievement. The Russian soprano Julia Lezhneva – who was already the cause of cheering ovations in Bayreuth as Gildippe in Porpora’s Carlo il Calvo and as Galatea in his Polifemo – lets the profound emotions of Porpora’s arias resound in the stratosphere of the soprano range, in beauty of sound, and in technical brilliance.

Our media partner Bayerischer Rundfunk will broadcast this concert live.



Nicola Antonio Porpora (1686–1768)


[Largo e staccato] – Vivace – Adagio sostenuto – Allegro – [Largo e staccato]
“Torrente cresciuto”

from the opera Siroe

“Sol fra scogli e fra tempeste”

from the opera Statira

Sinfonia da camera in B flat major op. 2 No. 6

Adagio – Allegro – Affetuoso – Allegro

“Tu che d’ardir m’accendi”

from the opera Siface

“Scuote la quercia annosa”

from the opera Il trionfo di Camilla




Ouvertura from the opera Ezio

[Allegro] – [Menuetto]

“Fra l’orror della tempesta”

from the opera Siroe

“Son pellegrino errante”

from the opera Siface

Sinfonia da camera in E minor op.2 No.5

Affetuoso – Allegro – Adagio – Giga

“La speme mi dice”

from the opera Siface

Impallidisce in campo”

from the opera Issipile


Julia Lezhneva Soprano
Martyna Pastuszka Conductor
{oh!} Orkiestra Orchestra in Residence of the Bayreuth Baroque Opera Festival 2022

Subscribe to receive our Newsletter